Historic Cold?

January 2, 2010

I just sprinted to my car here in St. Louis. Why would I ever sprint anywhere? It’s 7 degrees outside, that’s why. I always have the thought in the back of my head that it could be this cold up here. I never think it could possibly get that cold in Louisiana. Unfortunately, it looks like we could get closer to that number than any of us would ever like to. I’m all for extreme weather, but dry cold is my least favorite. If it’s going to get cold, you better at least throw some snow in for me!

Snow isn’t entirely out of the question sometime Thursday as the arctic front passes by. Glancing at recent model data provides at least a threat of a snow shower or sleet pellet as the cold air assaults the deep south. I really think the worst of that storm will be to our north and east. So that leaves us with potentially record breaking cold. I still don’t want to nail down details quite yet, but it is increasingly likely that we will see lows in the teens, and highs having trouble getting above freezing. The only recent analog I can think of is Christmas of 2004. That was the day we kept highs near freezing over most of the area, though lows weren’t in that damaging mid teens area that we could possibly see. There is a load of snow cover for this air to move over up north. It will be modified a bit as it treks southward, though not as much as we’d like to see. I’m thinking Friday and Saturday morning could bring us some of the coldest air we’ve seen in years. Be ready for it!

Leave a Reply

